Superman in sandals!

Aside

OMG!!!!!!!!!! They shaved his whole chest to put in the Hickman catheter on Monday night!  LOL!  I’m told that the expression on my face when I saw that was priceless.  Of course, things are only gonna get MORE hairless over the next week or so . . . he has been told that all of his hair will fall out, including his beloved eyebrows.  No more Andy Rooney look for him . . . . thank you for that!  In anticipation of that, however, he asked me to give him a haircut and to buy him a new shaver (since the good one he just got last year is MIA) . . . money well spent, for sure!  Oh well, whatever it takes to make him happy!  (BTW, electric shavers are VERY expensive!!)

Our brave boy started chemo on Monday nite . . .he is tolerating it very well . . . the first 3 days he gets 2 kinds of chemo and days 4 thru 7 only 1 kind, and has steroids, platelet and blood transfusions, anti-nauseau medication . . . he feels pretty good, especially for someone being poisoned! We have been told that this first week is the easy part . . . he will start to go downhill by the end of the weekend when his bone marrow is depleted of everything – good and bad stuff – but he will be closely monitored for any complications. The combination of steroids and the chemo has thrown his sugar levels completely out of kilter so he is getting insulin by injection and has to watch what he eats . . . I guess I shouldn’t have bought those cookies and donuts . . . but that should right itself over the next few days as the steroids get out of his system.

His spirits are very good . . . amazingly good! But then, he IS an amazing man! He keeps the nurses laughing and is always asking them trivia questions – they now go home from work and study for the next trivia questions! He is the sunshine of my life and it gives me such joy to see him bring sunshine into other lives!

He has gotten used to walking around while tethered to his IV pole . . . here’s a visual for you: John walking down the hallway of the hospital in a hospital gown (hopefully tied in the back!), in his Superman hat, black socks (I have to remember to take him his Christmas socks) and sandals, face mask, tethered to the IV pole, whistling away and cracking jokes with everyone . . . a real sight!!! That’s our boy!

Oh, someone asked for our mailing address . . . here it is:

7790 Tumblebrook Road
Coopersburg, PA 18036

I hope you are all ready for the holidays!! I, of course, am NOT! But that should come as no surprise to those of you who know me! John always does our shopping and it is something he loves to do (I am too tight with money and just cry as I try to decide what to buy or whom .. . I appear to be a bit indecisive) . . . I am going to try to squeeze in some shopping for the grandchildren but don’t think the adult kids will be getting much, although the good news is that nobody will be getting coal in their stocking this year (that will make Jimmy very happy – he is still traumatized about the year we actually did put coal in his stocking . . . scarred for life) . . .

So, we wish you all Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Kwanza, or whatever is your holiday of choice (our family is a veritable United Nations of cultures, religions, etc) . . . hug your family close to you and be of good cheer! And try to remember to include any holiday orphans you may know in your holiday plans! And may the New Year bring you health, happiness, and prosperity!

I will keep you all posted as to John’s progress in this journey and as he becomes the bald wonder! I have to keep in mind that the BALD eagle is a majestic and proud synbol of our wonderful nation (although it certainly doesn’t appear to be bald) . . . if a bald bird can be a proud symbol, then certainly a bald (completely bald!) man can be a proud symbol of perseverence, persistence, and the will to live!! I love you, my darling brave man!

Love, laughter, positive thoughts, and prayer!

Linda