You are my sunshine!

You are my sunshine – John has always been the sunshine in my life!  he walks into a quiet room and you can feel the sunshine in his joy and laughter!  He doesn’t just walk into a room – he bounds into a room and just makes you feel the sunshine of his personality!  One of the songs I sing (okay, caterwaul) to our little grandson is “You are My Sunshine, My Only Sunshine” . . . I don’t know if he likes it but it always makes me feel good!

Our boy is feeling pretty crappy, still/again. He is also very tired of being in the hospital and a bit cranky (gee, I wonder why?!).  He ran a fever of 101.1 last nite and is now on 2 antibiotics til the results of the blood culture get back . . . the blood culture is to see what kind of infection he may have so that they can treat that specific infection . . . maybe it will be nothing, but they are keeping a close eye on him. 

And, by “keeping a close eye on him” I mean they are constantly waking him to check his vitals, ask him his name (and Oliver Shagnasty is NOT an acceptable response, but they have come to expect it), etc . . . those of you who know John well, know that he does NOT like being awakened and is NOT shy about telling you so . . . fortunately his nursing staff is great and always jolly AND used to grumpy old men!  I do love these women . . . they are always so cheerful!

I am home right now doing laundry, baking some chocolate chip cookies (since all he did yesterday was whine about not having any homemade cookies – and Liz and Emily and Grace are making him MORE – so this should keep him happy for quite awhile!), taking care of business stuff (last minute Applications for Continuances, client calls, etc), paying those dreaded bills that don’t go away just because he is in the hospital, etc.  I am learning to mostly ignore the ever growing dust-bunnies (when I get my cataracts repaired I won’t be able to take off my glasses to ignore those little dust-bunnies!  Good reason NOT to get that surgery – but being able to drive at night without fear will outweigh the sight of those little buggers!).   I will head over to the hospital shortly and curl up with him to try to take away some of his pain and frustration.  It sure is lonely in our king-size bed without him! 

The work on our beautiful house at the shore continues!  All of the floors and sub-flooring are being pulled up, all of the kitchen cabinets and 3 of the 4 bathroom vanities are now gone, the jacuzzi tub is on the curb, and the walls are down . . . what a sight!!!  I guess it’s good that I don’t have the time to go down there!  Still await the adjuster’s final report (a/k/a, how much money we will have to work with). 

The big old pine tree is off the roof of the house in the country and many of the 18 fallen trees have been cut up . . . thank-you brother Bill . . . the insurance adjuster was finally here this week to work up the numbers.  It looks brighter in here without those 2 huge trees blocking the sun!  But a 270 year house surrounded by so many trees will always be a bit dark and gloomy. 

So, that is all the news for right now.  I will be glad when my Sunshine returns – these cloudy skies are not much fun.  But I know the sun will come out again soon and we will be laughing and enjoying life again soon . . . so, Sunshine, get better soon – we need your sunny smile and hearty laugh! 

Love, laughter, positive thinking, and prayers!

Linda

Leave a comment